English Department at UNLV


The Ben Jonson Journal

Literary Contexts in the Age of Elizabeth, James, and Charles


The Ben Jonson Journal is published through the generous sponsorship of an anonymous donor, and with the support of Christopher Hudgins, Dean of the UNLV College of Liberal Arts; Richard Harp, Co-Editor and Chair of the UNLV English Department; and Stephen Cullenberg, Dean of the College of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences, University of California, Riverside.


Contributions and editions and editorial correspondence should be sent to:

Editors, The Ben Jonson Journal
Department of English
University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Las Vegas, NV 89154-5069

E-mail correspondence should be addressed to richard.harp@unlv.edu. The guide for stylistic matters is The Chicago Manual of Style. For article and note submissions, please, if at all possible, make an electronic submission to the e-mail address listed above. If this is not possible, please send four paper copies to the Editors for review. Copies should be accompanied by return postage. Upon acceptance, contributors will need to supply an electronic version of the article in MS Word or ASCII format. We ask that contributors also supply an electronic mail address, phone number, and fax number for the sake of expedient communication. Book reviews are assigned by the editors.


Subscriptions and business correspondence should be sent to the publisher:

Edinburgh University Press
22 George Square
Edinburgh EH8 9LF

All back issues with full text may be seen at:


More recent articles can be accessed at the Edinburgh University Press website, above.


Editorial Board

  • David M. Bevington, University of Chicago
  • Martin Butler, University of Leeds
  • Thomas Clayton, University of Minnesota
  • Ian Donaldson, Cambridge University
  • Timothy Erwin, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  • M. Thomas Hester, North Carolina State University
  • Grace Ioppolo, The Shakespeare Institute, University of Birmingham
  • W. David Kay, University of Illinois
  • William W. Kerrigan, University of Massachusetts, Amherst
  • Anthony Low, New York University
  • David C. McPherson, University of New Mexico
  • John Mulryan, St. Bonaventure University
  • Stephen Orgel, Stanford University
  • E. W. Tayler, Columbia University
  • Sara van den Berg, St. Louis University
  • Susanne Woods, Franklin & Marshall College
  • R. V. Young, North Carolina State University


  • Richard Harp, University of Nevada, Las Vegas
  • Stanley Stewart, University of California, Riverside
  • Robert C. Evans, Auburn University at Montgomery
  • Joyce Ahn — Managing Editor
  • Ben Whalen — Book Review Editor


For further information about the journal - including complete tables of contents of the volumes published so far, plus the opening paragraphs of selected articles - please follow the links below.